Too busy to Tweet? Relax!

 

Where were you and what were you doing at 7:30 this morning?

I don’t mean to get too personal but if you’re like most women you were already out of bed and getting ready for work.  More than likely you were shipping the kids off to school and had checked your smart phone for e-mails and news. Maybe you had even figured out what to cook for dinner tonight.

Sometimes it feels like the guys in those old Army commercials: Women do more before 9 a.m. than most people do all day.

We’re busy just trying to get out the door on time. While I’m not heading to the office these days, I’m not sleeping in.

Yesterday before 8:00 a.m., I was on my way to Sandston Unique Treasures, a gift shop, for coffee and conversation at Eastern Henrico Business Association’s inaugural morning meeting. http://www.ehba.us/

Afterwards, I stopped briefly at home to change clothes, download photographs I had taken at the morning meeting, and shoot off a resume to a prospective employer before my next appointment. 

Then I zipped to a NAWBO/Extraordinary Women’s Exchange lunch meeting at Willow Oaks Country Club. http://www.nawborichmond.org/

I spent a couple of hours at Varina library doing some research.

 By 4 p.m. I was in Ettrick getting ready to coach Virginia State University students in Jonathon Young’s Professional Enhancement business class. http://www.vsu.edu/

It was after 6 p.m., before I headed home. The point is: We all have lots on our plates!   But we can’t forget to slow down every once in a while to keep from crashing and burning.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed everything I did yesterday. I met new people while spending some time with others I’d met before.

For instance, at the coffee gathering, I got a chance to chat with Letty Mehfoud, who owns the business along with her husband.  Plus I discovered a new place to shop.

At lunch, the topic was heart health awareness for women. I learned a lot and left inspired to do better with my exercise routine. (Thanks Kathy Cain for the lunch invitation!)

And there’s nothing more fulfilling than helping young women and men get started in their careers so the VSU visit was well worth my time.

But by the time I got home after 7 p.m. I was more than ready to chill out. Dinner was leftovers. Then I spent some down time with my hubby watching a WCVE program about kid’s TV shows. http://ideastations.org/

As I job hunt, reconnect with friends, volunteer and get to know more about my community, I’m making sure I make some “me” time.

What about you? Are you making time for yourself? What do you do to relax and unwind? I’m always looking for new chill out ideas.

One thought on “Too busy to Tweet? Relax!

  1. Jennie

    Sundra, thanks so much for sharing this wonderful blog. I was amazed to hear of your busy day. It’s kind of the same here. I’m supposed to be “retired”, but I still seem to be working part time! Our best time of the week is when we volunteer for VITAS Hospice Care. Richard and I volunteer together and it is so very rewarding. We do take time out for ourselves with travel and theater.

    HAPPY VOLUNTEER WEEK!
    Fondly, “cousin” Jennie

Leave a Reply

