Everybody is doing it so I’ll do it, too (VA2LA)

How cold is it? It’s so cold that I saw an alligator on the bayou wearing ice skates.

I couldn’t resist. I joined the “Man, it is cold” frenzy. CNN was calling it a “Polar vortex.” Whatever the hell that is!

The fountain outside my apartment building shows how cold it is here.
The fountain outside my apartment building shows how cold it is here.

As I sat in my car yesterday morning watching the external temperature gauge frozen at 28 degrees, I tweeted out a few how- cold- is-it comments as I waited for my car to warm up. And I thought, this isn’t suppose to be happening here, not in south Louisiana.

My husband, who is holding down the fort in Virginia, and I had compared weather notes by telephone before I headed out the door.

Looks like it’s going to be colder for longer in Richmond than it will be in here in Lafayette. He may have won the it’s-colder-here contest but it that didn’t stop me from complaining about the temperature.

Then I remembered that we’d had a similar conversation back in August. That time I was complaining about the heat. My husband had reminded me then that Richmond had been hotter for that past week than Lafayette.

Guess, I’ll just shut up, strap on my ice skates and head to work today as the temp now hovers around 21 degrees.

2 thoughts on “Everybody is doing it so I’ll do it, too (VA2LA)

Leave a Reply

